(Old Saint Louis)
"If it's happening in St. Louis, it's on Saint Louis Front Page."
3832 S Broadway Street
St. Louis, MO 63118
To submit news, contact:
To advertise, contact:
ST. LOUIS, MO, (SLFP.com) - Laclede's Landing - In 1763, a French fur trapper named Pierre Laclede, along with Auguste Chouteau, set out from New Orleans to explore the Illinois Country to establish a trading post.
In 1764, he chose the west bank of the Mississippi River, north of the River des Peres and south of the Missouri River. In 1784, the site was cleared and temporary cabins were built. Laclede named the settlement St. Louis in honor of the patron saint of the king of France.
The village of St. Louis contained three streets: La Grande Rue, now First Street; Rue d'Eglise, now Second Street; and Rue des Granges, now Third Street. Soon the village became the center of commerce with furs as the main source of exchange for goods.
Today, Laclede's Landing, a nine - block industrial area that once housed companies producing coffee, leather goods, mattresses, tobacco, whiskey, candy and machinery for the barges, features some of the most unique restaurants and sidewalk cafes in Saint Louis. Visitors to Laclede's Landing can experience the charm of cobblestone streets and century old brick and cast iron facade buildings as they browse through specialty gift shops.
Directions: Laclede's Landing is located between I-70 and the Mississippi River and tucked comfortably between the landmark Eads Bridge and the Dr. Martin Luther King Bridge, just north of the Gateway Arch, and east of the America's Center & Edward Jones Dome.
The Saint Louis Front Page is owned and maintained by the Moore Design Group for the sole purpose of disseminating news and information about the Metropolitan Saint Louis area. Text or graphics may not be copied, rewritten or distributed in any manner whatsoever without written permission. For more information, contact email@example.com All rights reserved world wide © 1996 - 2016 Moore Design Group.
Vacation Savings at